Christmas Blues

Cover of "The Latke Who Couldn't Stop Scr...

The other day I was feeling blue, mostly because with Black Friday past and the Christmas season in full swing I was feeling more estranged than ever from, well…life. Christmas may just be another holiday for some people, but for me it has always been a festive but overtly religious holiday. My family attends the yearly local performance of Handel’s “Messiah,” various stage productions of “It’s a Wonderful Life”and Tchaikovsky’s ‘Nutcracker’ show around the city, and my local university puts on more than a couple of sacred concert events. Everything is music and celebration and “Jesus is the reason for the season” bumper stickers…But this Christmas, my first Christmas as a semi-out sceptic  all the previously comforting traditions were alienating.

I felt this way as I sat in one of my university’s mandatory weekly worship gatherings. Twenty minutes of four-part harmony Christmas hymns in and I was sending off melancholy texts to whoever I thought might reply. But my blues were cut short by a delightful story called, “The Latke Who Couldn’t Stop Screaming: A Christmas Story.”

The story was read (quite humorously) by a student, and it warmed my heart. Knowing what I do about this particular student, I can’t help but think he chose that story for people like me.

Leave a Reply

