Spotlight on: Uganda’s Severe Criminalizaion of Homosexuality

I should be writing the next installment in my three part series on sexual purity, but instead I feel the need to draw attention to something conscientious minds cannot ignore: Uganda’s severe criminalization of homosexuality proscribe prison time to men and women who enter into consensual sexual relationships with a member of the same sex. Prominent sectors of Ugandan media have made it clear that they are willing to publish death threats, and personal information (such as full name, picture, and home address) that gives other Ugandan’s the ability to carry out the violence. People are fearing for their life, and whether or not some people are at peace with homosexuality does not change the fact that killing people for their non-violent, age-appropriate sexual behavior is wrong.

But don’t take my word for it. Instead check out these articles:

Uganda’s 2009 draft of Anti-Homosexuality Bill
“Top UN rights official urges Uganda to do away with ‘anti-homosexuality bill’”
“Uganda: ‘Anti-Homosexuality Bill’ threatens fight against HIV, UN expert warns”
“Assume the Worse in Uganda: Death Penalty Likely Remains in Anti-Homosexuality Bill”

I signed an online petition about this issue,  and while I don’t think the Ugandan government gives a snot about my opinion of their legislation, I know my senator and my congressman do. It is my (hopeful) belief that if enough ordinary citizens stand against this persecution, the people we elected will guide our country to use its substantial influence in the United Nations and in the world economy to pressure the Ugandan government (I’m not sure if we offer Uganda monetary  aide, but if we do, that is yet another bargaining chip). I am not in favor of the United States acting like a bully, however, human rights should be an issue on which there is no compromise. If nothing else, I would be in favor of opening our borders to any and all non-violent Ugandan nationals seeking asylum.

I hope you all will take the opportunity to read these links and come up with your own ideas about what the United States, and its citizens, should do about the oppression of her brothers and sisters in Africa.

Leave a Reply

